See Our Communities


The mission of the Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO) is to eliminate housing discrimination, promote economic opportunity, and achieve diverse, inclusive communities by leading the nation in the enforcement, administration, development, and public understanding of federal fair housing policies and laws. FHEO protects people from discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, and familial status. In addition, housing providers that receive HUD funding, have loans insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), as well as lenders insured by FHA, may be subject to HUD program regulations intended to ensure equal access of LGBT persons.

Read more about Equal Housing here.

CARF/CCRC stands for Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities, Continuing Care Retirement Community. Through accreditation, CARF assists communities in improving the quality of their services, demonstrating value, and meeting internationally recognized organizational and program standards. The accreditation process applies sets of standards to service areas and business practices during an on-site survey. Accreditation, however, is an ongoing process, signaling to the public that a community is committed to continuously improving services, encouraging feedback, and serving the community. Accreditation also demonstrates a community’s commitment to enhance its performance, manage its risk, and distinguish its service delivery.


In Virginia, a Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC) is an official designation by the Commonwealth. The Virginia code recognizes the commitment between the community and residents as well as the availability of multiple levels of living. These multiple levels of living make a CCRC stand out from many of the stand-alone facilities that only offer one or two levels of living. The reason we have focused on CCRC’s is that we believe they offer the most elegant plan for our residents and their loved ones. CCRC’s are called by other names, a new one is Life Plan Community, which is appropriate in the residents who call a Pinnacle Living community home have a plan for life that is a gift to themselves and the ones they love. A plan to stay in control, make their own choices rather than leave hard questions for others to weigh and choose.

Read more about CARF here.

We are proud to share that Pinnacle Living is SAGECare Credentialed. SAGE is a national advocacy and services organization that has been a champion for LGBTQ+ older adults since 1978. SAGECare is a cultural competency training program specifically designed for long-term care and other congregate living providers that helps providers create more LGBTQ+ welcoming organizations. SAGECare credentials help LGBTQ+ people find trained providers. SAGECare's dynamic and informative training provides orientation to the needs and experiences of LGBTQ+ older adults so we may provide the best services possible to this population. The training enables us to contextualize the lives of LGBTQ+ older adults through case studies and videos of real individuals to understand why some LGBTQ+ older adults may choose not to come out. The training also provides an overview on the various rights and protections extended to LGBTQ+ residents. Finally, being credentialed connects us to local and national resources and enables us to receive best practices to integrate into our work.

Read more about SAGECare here.

The mission of LeadingAge is to expand the world of possibilities for aging. It’s 6,000+ members and partners include not-for-profit organizations representing the entire field of aging services, 39 state partners, hundreds of businesses, consumer groups, foundations and research partners. LeadingAge is also a part of the International Association of Homes and Services for the Aging (IAHSA), which spans 30 countries across the globe.

Read more about Leading Age here.